You’re Still Growing

When I was younger I always dreaded that question that every teacher or adult would ask. That question is ‘what do you want to be when you grow up’. This would cause me all types of anxiety as a 5 year old trying to plot out what I’m going to do for the rest of my life. How am I supposed to know this? I don’t even know what I’m having for lunch but you want me to be able to tell you what I want to do for the rest if my life? My answer was always whatever they wanted to hear. Doctor, lawyer, scientist, singer or whatever. I knew I probably wouldn’t be any of these things but if I said something popular like that, then they would get off my back, for right now at least.

That pressure to live up to others expectations haunted, and still haunts me to this day, me and caused all types of unnecessary stress. I was so busy trying to live up to what they wanted me to be that I never really figured out what I actually wanted to be. I was lost just floating around life not knowing which way was up. I still feel this way about life and my future.

The thing is there is no such thing as being grown. You’re still growing everyday. The moment you stop growing is the moment you die mentally. I don’t want to reach that point. I force myself to learn something new everyday. You’re never too old to follow your dreams and do what it is that you truly want to do.

Leave a Reply

