How I Stay Stress Free. Mostly…

let’s face it. We have all been stressed or overwhelmed at one or many points in our life. Life can be overwhelming at times. So much to do and so little time. I know I struggle with things like time management which causes me to stress over other things, which leads to other things. Stress is such a slippery slope.

One of the ways that I deal with the stress is through meditation. I find that this allows me to calm my nerves and be a better me. This may not work for everyone but it works wonders for me and if you’re dealing with stress or a stressful situation it can’t hurt to try.

One of my techniques is to control my breathing. Deep 3 second breaths in through my nose and out through the mouth. I do this a few times when I’m in the moment and need to clear some head space. To go deeper, I typically like to sit with my eyes and focus on nothing. Yes, focus on nothing. It is extremely harder than it sounds! After a while you get used to the idea and can do it for a certain amount of time before your mind wanders and needs to be brought back to center. When it wanders just bring it back to center and try again. I suggest starting out with 1 minute a day of quiet time. Nothing more and nothing less. Eventually you can go for longer sessions but to train your mind start slowly.

I give these tips and more on my podcast The Dope Clique Show.  You can take a listen below:

Leave a Reply

