Whiskey Tango Foxtrot – Movie Review D-

Let me start by saying that I love Tina Fey. I think she is one of the funniest actresses that I have had the pleasure of seeing. This time around, eh, not so much.

image

So I went to see Whiskey Tango Foxtrot on the Sunday of its opening weekend. It was a toss up between this and Zootopia. Honestly, I should have gone with Zootopia. From the beginning I knew this was going to be a bad movie. When the first joke fell completely flat, I shrugged it off and hopes that the next one would land. Or the next one, or the next one. Nope. The theater was quiet for an hour and a half as jokes and little things just did not work.  While this isn’t one of those ‘every line should be funny or setting up for a punchline’ type of movie (think 2 broke girls or The Big Bang theory type show) but it’s bad when the only time the audience even chuckled was when the first Afghan woman allowed to have a driver’s license backed into a cart, and that scene was in the previews.

This movie was awful. I know that Tina Fey will bounce back from this and go on to make other funny or better movies but this was not the move. This is definitely a movie that was better off as just a book. I regretfully give this a D-.

Leave a Reply

