The Big Short – Movie Review B-

The Big ShortThe big short is a movie about the housing market and credit crash in the early 2000’s.  The movie is based on the book of the same name by Michael Lewis. I know you’re probably thinking the same thing that I am, how can you make finance interesting?  Well, the answer is that you really can’t make the actual numbers of it interesting but you can build a story around what happened.

I was actually pretty entertained and captivated by the story. Even though I didn’t understand 90% of what they were talking about.  This is definitely a movie for number crunchers and finance people. While during the movie they kind of explain some of the acronyms that they use it was still gibberish to me. I really thought it was just an interesting story on how this guy figured out the market was going to crash and capitalized off of it before anyone else did.

Overall I give this movie a B- because of the story telling aspect of it. This is definitely not a theater movie. Redbox/on demand at home is the best way to view it. It doesn’t have the bigness needed for a theatrical viewing. This doesn’t take away from the movie’s worth but I had a hard time following it with all the jargon that they were using and if I watched it at home I may have been able to stop, look up what they are referring to and maybe better understand it a little better.  The star power is there though with Ryan Gosling, Christian Bale, Steve Carell, Brad Pitt, and Marisa Tomei.

Leave a Reply

