Thanksgiving Meal Practice Run

I decided to do a quick run through of my thanksgiving meal today. Since this is my first time making it I didn’t want any surprises. I cooked 2 Cornish hen in my slow cooker, some white rice with corn, broccoli, cream of chicken soup and cream of mushroom soup in the rice cooker, candied yams, mixed greens, stuffing and gravy, and Mac and cheese.

I am proud to say that everything turned out great!! The only thing that I will tweak is that I didn’t anticipate how quickly the sides would be done compared to the rice and Cornish hen. The Cornish hen takes 6 hours so I started that process way ahead of time. I didn’t realize that the rice would take as long as it did t it didn’t take any longer than normal I guess. More like I didn’t anticipate the sides being so easy to make and finish so quickly. So on thanksgiving the only change is that I will cook the sides once the rice and meat are completely done.

I’m so proud of myself. I cooked an entire meal by myself. I feel like such an adult.

7 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Meal Practice Run

    1. Great! The gravy is one of my biggest concerns. I made some but it wasn’t the right thickness. Still good just not as thick as I wanted. Maybe I’ll add a little milk. I made cornbread today and it came out fine. I added a can of creamed corn and it was delicious.

      Like

  1. To thicken the gravy, my mom taught me to use cornstarch mixed with milk — 4 tablespoons of cornstarch and 1/2 cup of milk, stirred “half to death” poured into the “turkey juice”.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. and then stirred.
    For what it’s worth, it seems corn starch doesn’t dissolve well in hot turkey juice…every time I’ve tried to cut out the “first dissolve cornstarch into the milk”…. and just add the milk and then the cornstarch directly to the turkey juice…I’ve ended up with little lumps of cornstarch in the finished gravy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

