Diabetes Sucks

Anyone with any type of auto immune disease can relate. Diabetes sucks! It’s like my body is attacking itself and I’m pretty much helpless.  There is no real control just management when it comes to making sure that your levels are in a certain range to keep you somewhat healthy.

Yesterday I did something stupid. I went to give blood. That’s not the stupid part. The stupid part was that I didn’t eat right before I have blood. This ended up dropping my blood glucose levels down to dangerous levels.  I ate breakfast so I figured that I would be okay. Yeah, I thought wrong. I ended up in the emergency room because I couldn’t get my levels to come up and needed some injections to help. I ended being admitted for observation because it seemed to be taking too long for me to get back to normal do they wanted to watch over me as a precaution.

Now I’m sitting here in this hospital room reevaluating my life and some of the health choices that I make. Now I have to be more diligent in checking my levels. As most people that have something like this for a long time, I have this thing of instead of checking my levels for accuracy I go by how I ‘feel’. Well, that ‘feeling’ let me down yesterday. I need to be careful about what I eat and don’t eat.

Even though the diabetes struggle is real, there are things that I can do to make it less of a struggle. Proper diet and exercise are too priority and key to keeping my levels where they need to be. I have the exercise portion down but I definitely need to work on the diet part. It’s really tough and time consuming to manage this disorder but it’s something that I have to do. I’m just so mad and frustrated with myself for this little mistake that lead to me being in this hospital. I shouldn’t be here right now.

Leave a Reply

