Don’t Count My Calories

I’m sure I’m not alone in this. I’m sure this has happened to anyone with dietary restrictions or medical conditions that cause them to count calories or carbs or only allows them to eat certain foods. Stop counting my calories!!

I am a type 1 diabetic so I have to inject myself with insulin to stay alive. Unlike type 2 diabetes this is a genetic disorder that causes my pancreas to fail to produce enough insulin for my body. Since I have to inject myself with insulin I have yo watch what I eat and count carbs. The reason I count carbs is because the amount of medication I give myself is based on the amount of carbs I ingest.

Here’s the issue. There are people that don’t understand and then try and tell me what I can and cannot eat. If you are not a registered dietician with access to that person’s chart and eating habits please don’t tell them what they can and cannot eat. This drives people crazy.

I know that you think that you are helping but what you’re really doing is backseat driving and trying to give the drive directions in a city that you’ve never been in. That is so aggravating and frustrating. You are not helping.

2 thoughts on “Don’t Count My Calories

  1. yes, that’s so true! People love to share advice about their friend’s cousin, grandmother or uncle who has diabetes and can’t eat this or that. Each person’s situation is unique, so long as you know what you’re doing that’s all that matters. Just smile and nod haha 🙂

    Frank
    http://www.type1writes.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

